2019 - 2020

East Sussex College Group Board

Chair of Governors

David Smith

Vice Chair of Governors

Joanne Rogers

Vice Chair of Governors

Ian Mehrtens

Interim CEO

Rebecca Conroy

Director of Governance

Mia Bryden

Independent Governor

Graham Cook


Kevin Cowley


Mark Fisher

Independent Governor

Suzanne Green

Teaching Staff Member

Steve Hedges

Independent Governor

Catherine Manning

Independent Governor

Sue Maynard


Gill Short


Derek Stevens


Angela Smith

Business Support Staff Member

Marie Sangster

Co-opted members of board committees

At this critical stage in the transition to the new college and the development of its vision, it was felt that the involvement of staff and students is essential. Therefore, both staff governors from each college and one student governor will serve on the East Sussex College Group board to help to shape the future until the end of this academic year when elections will be held. Governors will meet with staff and students in the summer term to seek their views on the most appropriate way to structure these elections.

We are also delighted to welcome the following members as co-opted governors:

HR Committee

Robert Mee

Audit Committee

Tom Sanderson

Finance Committee

Madina Tash